Florida DUI Attorney FAQs
What is the range of fees for Florida DUI attorneys? Florida DUI lawyer’s fees could vary largely depending on the character of the case. Factors to consider include degree of offense, whether the defendant has been convicted of misdemeanor or felony, whether the offense if the first or is a repeat, whether the offense has caused damage to life or character, and the client’s requirements and expectations.
It could cost anywhere from $500 to $2,000. Fees could also vary depending on the reputation of the attorney. Famous ones probably charge a little more. If you are facing a minor and first offense, you do not need to choose the cream of the crop. But if you have a harsh case and you have caused damage to life or character, you may want to get a more experienced Florida DUI attorney. This would cost you more. The fee would be small, however, compared to jail time (especially if you are sentenced to thirty years).
Consider several DUI attorneys before employing one to estimate if fees charged to you are reasonable.
Q: What is the best resource for Florida DUI Attorneys?
One of the best resources for Florida DUI Attorneys is the Internet. There are several lawyer directories that are easy-to-use and are categorized according to area. You can also go to your favorite search engine and meaningful in “Florida DUI Attorneys.” You will find DUI lawyers with websites and already online legal help. You can also check the local telephone directory and find one nearest your area.
Q: Do I really need attorney for my DUI case already if it is just a first offense?
It is possible to just make a plea bargain with the District Attorney’s Office. But it could also average more jail time than if you had retained an attorney, especially if your case is serious.
Q: How long will it take for the case to be solved?
Again, this is thoroughly variable depending on the character of the case. Upon arrest, you have a maximum of ten days to make a special plea and save your license from being revoked indefinitely. Upon submission of written request, a “pretrial” will follow and it is here where the lawyer can negotiate to not go to the trial itself and close the case from there. But if the case has to go to trial because of a serious or a complicate case, then it may take from a month to a year depending on the number of situations charged like vehicular homicide. The trial itself is held within the six months the plea was submitted.
Q: Will my lawyer walk me by the whole course of action and regularly update me on my case?
A good lawyer should be able to update you on your case regularly and is fairly reachable already in off-hours (if there is an emergency). This should be the case especially if you are paying your lawyer well. Be sure to ask this question to your prospective lawyer already before you use his or her sets.
Q: What are included in the lawyer’s fees exactly?
This depends a lot on the attorney. Some charge by the hour and others will require an initial payment for retainer fees. Be sure to sign an agreement with your lawyer regarding what the fees will cover and the terms of additional costs.